The Discovery Programme’s constitution has been changed to bring it into line with the Companies Act 2014 and with best practice in corporate governance. The company’s new constitution came into effect in January 2016. Company members are nominated by sixteen Nominating Bodies representing archaeological and heritage bodies and higher-education institutions throughout Ireland. The Directorate consists of twelve Directors, six elected by the company members, four (including the Chair) by the Heritage Council and two external Directors. The organization’s executive is headed by a Chief Executive Officer and Secretariat. The Discovery Programme is a complex organization involving research in archaeology and related disciplines, technological and IT innovation, publication, public outreach and education, and the management of a dynamic team.

Current Directorate

  • Mr Tom Dowling (Chair)
  • Prof. Gabriel Cooney
  • Dr Stephen Mandal
  • Dr Nessa O'Connor
  • Mr Rónán Swan
  • Mr Steven Roberts
  • Ms Rhonda Robinson
  • Dr Shirley Markley
  • Mr Paul Walsh


  • Dr Mark Hennessy
  • Ms Rhonda Robinson
  • Mr. Martin Byrne
  • Mr Edmond O'Donovan
  • Ms Maeve Sikora
  • Dr Colin Rynne
  • Dr. Charles Mount
  • Dr Dirk Brandherm
  • Prof. Elizabeth Fitzpatrick
  • Mr Rónán Swan
  • Prof Tadhg O'Keeffe
  • Prof Howard Clarke
  • Dr Shirley Markley
  • Mr Paul Walsh

Nominating Bodies

RSAI LogoNationalMuseumsNorthernIrelandNUI GalwayHERITAGECOUNCILlogoNationalMuseumOfIrelandTiiLogo2cmediumNIEAlogoIAILogoRIA LOGODeptAHGUCDLOGOQueens lscape logo rgbTinityCollegeDublinUniversityCollegeCorkLogoITSligo
Company Reg. No.: 243328 (Dublin, Ireland) A Company Limited by Guarantee. Registered Office 6 Mount Street Lower, Dublin, D02 T670 Ireland. Reg. Charity No.: CHY 12549.